top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess

First Birthday Party

A few weeks ago we celebrated our daughter's first birthday with our closest friends and family, and it was truly magical. I was so hesitant to have a party because I didn't want to stress out about it...and I wasn't...at least not the day of. The week leading up to the party was a different story, as I worried about the possibility of rain and our daughter was recovering from being sick. Basically, I called my mom every day that week asking if she thought we should reschedule. I am glad we didn't. It was a charming little party–albeit cold and damp–with the people we love most, in a space close to my heart, and with many sentimental elements dear to Zach and I.


It was important to me that this party was as low-waste as possible, so we borrowed, thrifted, and made almost everything. My grandma lent us the wooden highchair that we used for her smash cake; a beautiful piece from 1905 that belonged to my great-grandmother. The red vintage Radio Flyer wagon was Zach's and his sister's childhood, a gift from his grandpa, along with the blue and white marbled flower pot that I found in his barn a couple of summers ago. The bronze candlesticks and glass cake stands were from our wedding, and the antique silverware was a wedding gift from my grandma. My parents supplied the tables and some chairs, and we thrifted the tablecloths and plates, which were the same ones used for my baby shower. My dad and Zach also beautified the yard earlier that week; they laid sod over a large dirt patch in the backyard, planted bushes and transplanted some flowers, mulched the flowerbeds, and cut down a dead tree. I used some of the discarded branches to decorate with, a touch of our current home.

As for food, we tried to keep it simple with fruits, toast and jam, mini pancakes, cookies, and egg casseroles baked by my momma. Zach's step-mom had the cutest cookies made for Finley, little "ones" with her name in white and light pink icing, and my sister brought donut holes from our favorite childhood donut shop. To top it all off, My mom also helped my grandma bake her signature Texas Sheet Cake, the same one my sisters and cousins had at many of our birthday parties growing up. Instead of a smash cake, we made her a stack of pancakes, as pancakes have turned into a Sunday morning tradition. And it was a hit! She loved it! We actually had to take it away from her, otherwise, she would have eaten all six pancakes. Zach and I made all the pancakes the night before, and luckily only set the fire alarm off once. I sprinkled some powdered sugar on it and Zach drizzled a bit of syrup on before adding a single golden candle. She waved and laughed as everyone sang her Happy Birthday and clapped excitedly with everyone at the end.


I have to say though, that the best part about this little girl's first birthday party was looking around the room and knowing everyone there loves and cares about her, and will be a part of her life years to come.




bottom of page