top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess

Reflection: 2018

This year has been the most significant year of my life. I became a mother, I became a person I liked rather than a person I thought I needed to be, and with that, I challenged myself in ways I hadn't before. I became more present and mindful, simplifying when and where I could, slowing down and being okay with saying no, and cherishing moments that might have otherwise gone unnoticed. Zach and I spent last NYE cozied up at home packing for our trip to Europe. It was the last NYE just the two of us, as I was about four and a half months pregnant with our daughter, we were thrilled about becoming parents in 2018. The next morning, January 1st, we hopped on a plane and headed to Europe. For the first two weeks of 2018, we lived out of backpacks, traveling Germany, the Netherlands, and Ireland. We spent our time wandering art museums, strolling through markets, trying delicious foods and beer (non-alcoholic beer for me), visiting castles, walking the Red Light District, and exploring Northern Ireland. The whole time talking and dreaming about what 2018 had in store.



Part of slowing down and living a more mindful life in 2018 was adopting a zero/low waste lifestyle. I started thinking more mindfully about my choices, my time, my home, and my body a couple years ago, but it wasn't until this year that everything started to fall into place. My pregnancy, without a doubt, propelled this mindset. I read Zero Waste Home, researched how to care for a baby zero waste, and actively reduced my waste and consumption. I completely change how I shopped and no longer bought prepackaged foods, I eliminated single-use products from our household, and relied on thrift stores for the majority of our clothing and household needs. Attempting to create zero waste in my life has been so rewarding, it makes me happy.


Living more mindfully also came in the form of making new friends and nourishing existing friendships. I have wonderful friends from high school and college, people who have been with me through thick and thin, but I've been living in Peoria for five years now and still felt like I lacked in that aspect of my life. So I put myself out there and connected with some amazing people, developing friendships that felt like they have been there forever. These are like-minded, authentic individuals who wear their hearts on the sleeves, who are honest and open, and who genuinely care about me and my family. I am beyond grateful to have them in my life and to be a part of theirs.



Placing focus on myself as an artist, curator, and arts advocate was an important aspect of this year as well. I started conducting studio visits for central IL artists through Project 1612, the alternative art space in the garage at my house. These studio visits allow me to connect with artists living and working around me. Considering artist studios are some of the most private, enriching, and inspiring places, it's been a privilege and a pleasure to do this project. As for my own studio practice, I made sure to take time for myself and quit my adjunct job at Bradley University to do so. I enjoyed teaching but my studio practice meant more to me, so with motherhood around the corner, and my nervousness about time in the studio, I allowed myself the time to make, exhibit, and write.



2018 was also a transitional period for me job wise. I applied and interviewed for the Gallery Curator position at Illinois Central College, while 8 months pregnant I must add, and graciously accepted the position early April. I was supposed to begin working later that month, but with the early arrival of our daughter, I didn't begin until mid-May. It was an ideal job for me during those beginning months of motherhood, as it was part-time and my boss allowed me, even encouraged me, to bring my newborn daughter to work. Together we scheduled artists for the academic year, installed exhibitions, and spent every waking hour together. It was beautiful. As the months passed, it became a little tricker to bring her to work, as you can imagine, so family stepped in when they could to babysit here and there. And then a posting came up for the Gallery Curator II position at Illinois State University. I applied. This job had been a dream job for so long, I felt that if I didn't apply I would be throwing away everything I had worked towards for so long. Months later, I received an email with information for a Skype interview. Then a couple weeks after that, another email asking to schedule an on-site interview. And then a phone call from the gallery director herself informing me that I got the job. I was thrilled! This job, my dream job, was now my job. So with that, I put in my two-weeks at ICC and was relieved that my boss understood and supported my decision.



I start my new job this week, January 3rd to be exact, and am full of emotions. I'm excited to be working for this institution who invests in the arts and artists and thrilled to be working for the director and curator who I respect and admire. But I would be lying if I didn't admit that I am anxious about being away from my daughter. Thankfully, we have worked out a weekly babysitting schedule with family. So even though I will be missing her, it will be wonderful for her bond and grow with her aunties and grandparents regularly. I have been beyond lucky to have spent these past 8 months just with her, bonding, cuddling, laughing, and learning. She has made me more me, and I am grateful for her every day. I am looking forward to the year ahead, and while 2018 will definitely be a hard year to beat, 2019 is looking promising and beautiful in its own ways.




61 views
bottom of page