top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess

(S)Low Waste Update

I've been asked a few times recently to give advice on how to start living zero/low waste. I struggle with this sometimes because I am by no means an expert and am constantly messing up and learning from those mistakes. That's just is part of it. So I made a list of pointers and hope they can also serve as a reminder that this practice, like any, is ongoing. It isn't easy, it is time consuming, and it requires constant reevaluation of choices. In a country where consumerism and instant gratification go hand-in-hand, it is easy to fall back into old ways. But when that happens, because it most certainly does, it tends to be a good reality check for me.


Recently, I have felt the struggle of living slowly/low waste. Maybe I forgot to pack my lunch and bought something quick to-go, or haven't had time to wash and dry the cloth diapers and needed to use disposables, or looked at the calendar and realized we said yes to way to much and will have no time to just relax as a family. Whatever it may be, sometimes I just feel like a big liar. But it is because of those moments that I am able to reevaluate my relationship to the slow living/low waste movement and recognize how far I have come.


So here is my list of ten (hopefully helpful) tips. Keep in mind these nuggets of advice are just one way. There are many people out there practicing this lifestyle and endless ways to get to the same answer.


1. Be prepared: This could be as simple as making sure you have your reusable water bottle with you, or as extra as keeping a zero waste kit in your car filled with utensils, cloth napkins, bags, Tupperware, etc. The more prepared you are, the less you will waste.


2. Thrift: I grew up thrifting with my mom, so this part of my practice is engrained in me. I've never felt incredibly comfortable shopping in big box stores, and for the most part avoid them entirely now. I get anxious and weirded out with the whole system. So, I thrift. I enjoy the process; searching for unique patterns and textures, handling strange objects, and staying within a budget that works for my family. Plus, with a little one at home I just can't justify buying her new clothes when she is growing so fast. I also love when someone asks me where I got something, and it opens up a whole conversation about zero waste.


3. Shop slow: This has been a big part of my practice, and can apply to thrifting and grocery shopping. It is challenging to shop slow, and I don't mean walking around the store at a snails pace, but rather making lists, buying only what you need, and not filling every inch of your home just to fill it. It may take me months, sometimes years in the case of a lamp shade, to find one that I like at the thrift store. I know it would be much easier to just go to Target, but that defeats the purpose of slow living for me. And for groceries, I try to keep a variety of reusable bags in the car (including mesh produce bags), buy plastic-free as much as possible, and mainly stick to the perimeter of the grocery store where fresh produce and bakery items are located. This did take some discipline and relearning at first, and there are still pre-packaged things we consume. Though for the most part our meals have become healthier and we produce way less waste than ever before. If we do purchase pre-packed foods, we try to make sure it comes in glass or paper, instead of plastic, so it is easily recycled or reused in our home.


4. Use bar soap: I have switched entirely to bar soaps. We use a big kitchen block soap for our dishes, which we purchase locally in Peoria at the Mediterranean Market. Lush has a great selection of bar soaps, shampoo and conditioner, and deodorant. And if I remember correctly, have little to no packaging. Bar soaps last way longer than liquid, and have reduced the amount of unnecessary packaging and plastic good we bring into our home.

5. Simplify your kitchen: We rely on our reusables. One of the first things I stopped buying was paper products. We reuse glass jars as cups and food containers, cloth napkins, old towels and washcloths for cleaning rags, and have an assortment of silverware and a small collection of thrifted little white plates for gatherings. We have a dishwasher in our new house, but still choose to hand-wash. We also no longer buy chemical cleaning products; soap, water, white vinegar, and baking soda go a long way.


6. Borrow: When we don't have something, we borrow. It's that simple.


7. Little ones: The whole reason we started this practice was because we were pregnant and began looking into the cost of raising a child. Kinda freaked us out, and made us sit down, for many long talks about our finances, values, and moral obligations to the planet. The cost of diapers and the ridiculous amount of time it takes for them to break down really threw us. So we decided to use cloth diapers and wipes. But, we are by no means 100% with this. We do our best, and some days need to use disposables, especially when she gets a rash, and because babies are rash magnets, that will undoubtably happen again. We also use disposable at night because, well, we learned the hard way on that one. For the most part though, we have had no major issues with cloth. The process isn't as gross as everyone thinks; if you have a child you will be dealing with their poop no matter what. We have a system that works for us and share the responsibilities when it comes to cleaning them. We have also saved money and time by going this route, and are never out of diapers.

8. Read & Listen: Being informed is one of the best ways to maintain this lifestyle, plus it is exciting to learn how others go about it. Bea Johnson's Zero Waste Home is a wonderful resource, especially in the beginning stages. Chapters are devoted to different areas of this practice, like navigating holidays or maintaining a zero waste kitchen and bathroom. After reading her book I felt like I had a strong basis for what I wanted my practice to look like. I'm currently reading Adam Minter's Junkyard Planet, and while I am not that far in yet, it has already been changing my thoughts on recycling. I also listen to The Slow Home Podcast by Brooke and Ben McAlary religiously. The podcast is in its fourth season and just keeps getting better. They talk about "slow living in a fast paced world," zero/low waste, raising children, reconnecting with yourself and loved ones, travel, work, etc. The conversations are always honest and they recognize how difficu lt it can be to actually slow down and live intentionally. Oh, and remember that social media is a tool for learning, and zero/low waste isn't always as pretty as those influencers make it seem.


9. Say "no": This lifestyle isn't always about consuming. Part of my practice has been learning to say NO. This doesn't come easy to a YES person, but has been a valuable part of my personal growth. I was notorious for filling my time: always busy, always running, always rushed. Living that way wasn't even fun! It was stressful and I always felt slightly off. Saying no has brought so much joy to my life, and I finally feel that my time is mine.


10. Be patience: Practicing zero/low waste and slow living takes time and a ton of mental space, especially at the beginning. I jumped right into it and was constantly researching, reading, and podcasting to learn as much as possible. But that method was exhausting and also lead to guilt when I messed up. I now know that the mistakes are part of the process, and all the small steps really do matter.


That's it. Now go have a beautiful, slow Sunday.


bottom of page