top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess

Bittersweet Move

Updated: Jul 25, 2019

I have some bittersweet news to share, as we have officially decided to sell our home and move to Morton. This isn't a decision we made lightly, as we love our city, our home, and the beautiful space that we have carved out for artists through Project 1612. But with significant changes in our homelife and careers over the past year, we found ourselves losing precious family time and longing for simplification. I am not, by any means, playing down my love for Peoria and how torn I have been about leaving. This city offered me room to grow as an artist and curator, to develop incredible friendships, and a place for our family to expand. However, my job is in Normal, and on a good day, my commute is about 45 minutes. There are days when it quick and painless, and I enjoy my coffee and get lost in a good podcast, but other days are mentally exhausting, especially during winter weather and summer construction. It wouldn't have been impossible for us to try and make it work, but I'm a big supporter of cutting out unnecessary stressors if and when possible. Plus knowing that I will only be a short drive from Peoria has offered me some peace of mind. I was sick over the thought of completely moving out of the area, and it felt selfish to ask Zach to be the full-time commuter, as his time with our daughter is just as important. So our compromise was Morton, a town I swore I would never move to. Never say never, I guess. Cause here I am, excited about the change, for the updates and love we will bring to our new home, and for the extra time I will now have to spend with my family.


As for Project 1612, this is not an end, just a hiatus until things get settled again. I am hopeful that the project will continue in the upcoming year or so, but it will take on a different form of itself. We are excited about the possibilities and time to further explore film screenings, public conversations with artists, email blast exhibitions, studio visits, interviews, and collaborations. I hope that our new home will eventually be able to offer a similar experience for artists to exhibit work on-site. But for now, I am grateful to all the artists who made it happen and to our Peoria community and neighbors who appreciated and celebrated this project. The upcoming August 10th exhibition by Kiley Brandt will mark four solid years here, sadly this will be the last exhibition at this physical location.


Also, anyone interested in buying our house? Complete with attic studio and gallery, it's an artists dream.


https://www.mathishomestrategies.com/homes-for-sale/IL/peoria/61604/1612-w-margaret-ave/lid-5d35bd0cfe345132ef7dced0


141 views
bottom of page